Accidentally Vegan

Part of being a vegan is checking the ingredients on everything you buy. I often find myself checking ingredients on things I’m sure won’t be vegan, but I look just in case.

Sometimes, I’m pleasantly surprised!

This section lists foods that are accidentally vegan – not marketed at vegans, something you would expect to be vegan or something you would automatically think of when you consider vegan foods. Read on – you might be surprised!

  • Nabisco Oreos (not the mini ones, but all the others are fine)
  • Skittles
  • Black and Gold milk bottle lollies
  • Allen’s jelly beans
  • Lindt Lindor 70% plain dark chocolate (including plain blocks and easter eggs, but not including flavoured blocks)
  • Lindt Lindor 85% plain dark chocolate
  • Aeroplane Jelly quick set jelly (this is now difficult to find)
  • Cottee’s Cold Water Jelly crystals
  • Most shelf-stable jelly (if it’s already made up and on the shelf, it almost certainly doesn’t have gelatine, but check the ingredients)
  • Custard powder (I use Poppy cos it’s a Brisbane-based company and my family has been using it for generations, but you can only find it in Foodworks these days; Coles and Woolies seem to have decided to support the Foster Clark’s, which is from Malta, if Google can be believed – I always thought they were from NSW)
  • Evaporated soy milk (near the evaporated milk in the supermarket – it’s great for creamy pasta cos it’s thicker than regular soy milk)
  • Sanitarium vegie roast*
  • Sanitarium vegie mince*
  • Sanitarium sausages (bbq; original; curried; vegie; hot dogs; rosemary, sage and parsley; sundried tomato and kalamata olive)*
  • Sanitarium deli luncheon (smoked and henchen)*
  • Sanitarium burgers (not burgers and lentil patties)*
  • Coles Finest 70% dark chocolate
  • Black Swan roasted garlic hommus (and lots of other kinds of hommus, but this is my favourite!)
  • Mike’s Real Food curried lentil pie (family-sized – this is really hard to find now)
  • Flannery’s dark chocolate – all kinds (although I think this might be purposefully vegan)
  • Allen’s sherbies
  • Nando’s Moroccan curry sauce
  • Coles roasted capsicum dip with pomegranate and walnut (this is now discontinued)
  • Red Rock’s Thai chili, lemongrass, coriander and cashew dip (personally I didn’t like this)
  • Red Rock’s Moroccan pumpkin dip
  • Sakata original and seaweed rice crackers
  • Plain or salted corn chips (Mission, Doritos, Coles etc)
  • Old El Paso salsas (you can only find my favourite one, Spicy Bean Dip, at Foodworks now – Coles and Woolies stopped selling it)
  • Salt and vinegar potato chips
  • White Wings Golden Buttercake Cake Mix
  • Cadbury Drinking Chocolate (including the mint flavoured kind – and the caramel flavoured kind, but it’s gross)
  • Sharwood’s Madras curry sauce
  • Lolly Gobble Bliss Bombs Nutty Caramel Popcorn
  • Coles Caramel Flavoured Popcorn
  • Hot Cake House pancakes (obviously not the cheese, chocolate or custard ones)
  • Home Brand Garlic Bread (from Woolworth’s)
  • Most Syndian products (ok, these are not accidentally vegan, but they’re so new, I wanted to note them)
  • Whittaker’s Bittersweet chocolate block (family size)
  • Whittaker’s dark chocolate blocks (orange zest, ghana peppermint, rum and raisin etc)
  • Whittaker’s Bittersweet Peanut Slab (vegan peanut slab, people! get excited!)
  • Whittaker’s individual chocolate bars as long as they are dark chocolate (including one with little orange pieces in it – yum!)
  • Yumi’s felafel bites
  • Yumi’s spicy pumpkin dip
  • Arnott’s Chocolate Ripple biscuits
  • Arnott’s Raspberry Shortcake biscuits
  • Weis’s Mango Sorbet
  • Borg’s puff pastry
  • Pampas puff pastry
  • Nabisco Ritz crackers (these things are saving me when I’m sick of chips, especially since Jatz are totally NOT vegan)
  • Betty Crocker Melting Moments biscuit mix (just use vegan margarine instead of butter)
  • Patak’s Rogan Josh, Balti, Jalfrezi and Biryani curry sauces
  • Homai cocktail spring rolls
  • Homai entertainment pack (check the ingredients to be sure you’re getting the right one, there is a meat version too)
  • Kong Foo Sing fortune cookies
  • Woolwoth’s vol au vent cases (really good filled with coconut chocolate pudding)
  • Sakata Italian tomato and basil rice crackers
  • Carman’s muesli bars (except the yoghurt one) – even the dark chocolate one has no dairy! (Some do have honey, so if you don’t eat that, check the ingredients)
  • Coles Caramelised onion hommus and Sun-dried tomato hommus (this was discontinued before it even had time to become regular)
  • Bread Top’s green bean sesame balls (just deep-fried glutinous rice balls filled with green bean paste and rolled in sesame seeds)
  • Savour spicy broad beans (pick up a packet near the wasabi peas in Coles)
  • Dairy-free gelato from Gelatissimo on Albert St in the city, just off Queen St Mall (access the nutritional information online)
  • Nature Valley granola bars, including the ones with dark chocolate chunks! (Check for honey if you don’t eat it)
  • Nice&Natural Nut Bar (only the original flavour)
  • Black Swan cannelini bean dip (it says it’s for a limited season only)
  • Crumpets – I’ve yet to find a packet that aren’t vegan (try these toasted with nuttelex and golden syrup… om nom nom!)
  • English muffins – I’ve yet to find a packet that aren’t vegan
  • Bread – check the ingredients, but so far I’ve only found one kind of Turkish bread that wasn’t vegan (all the Orthodox Christians I meet tell me how challenging Lent is cos you can’t have bread… I don’t understand what kind of bread they’re eating because I’ve never found this to be a problem)
  • Anzac biscuits from the bakery sections of Coles and Woolies (none of the other biscuits are vegan though)
  • Uncle Ben’s Mexican Style Express Rice (many of the other kinds of Express rice are not vegan, but this one definitely is)
  • Chocolate crackles, just like your mum used to make for parties when you were a kid! (No, you can’t buy these in a shop, but trust me when I tell you your mum will be happy she can make something for you using a recipe she already has and doesn’t have to modify)

* I’ve included Sanitarium faux-meat products in here, because many of them are not vegan and I felt this was a good opportunity to specify which are!

Share

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “Accidentally Vegan

  1. Pingback: Friday Feast: Sweet Potato Pinwheels « Eco Lesbo Vego

    • Thanks for letting me know, Renee! I saw lots of gorgeous olives on the Lindsay site (I love olives) but no tapenade. Did I miss it?

      Also, for anyone else reading, the Lindsay olives are sold in America, so we Aussies might have to find a different brand. If you’re American and trying them, let me know what you think!

    • Ah yes, the Homai stuff tends to be great! I think almost all the frozen Chinese snack foods are vegan (except the odd few with pork mince or something). But yeah, even the Coles ones are vegan. I had some good ones the other day, I just can’t remember the brand. Maybe they were Homai..?

      I shall add this to the list – thanks!

    • I think calcium carbonate is vegan. Here’s a quote from this site:

      What about those ingredients that sound like they are from milk, such as lactic acid, lactose, and lactate?
      If it’s lactate or lactic acid, it’s not from dairy (exception – sterol lactate due to the stearic acid). “Lac” ingredients are usually produced by a fermentation process using cornstarch or beet sugar. Lactose is always from dairy. Most ingredients made with with calcium are vegan (i.e. calcium carbonate, calcium phosphate, calcium sulfate). The exceptions are calcium caseinate and calcium stearate. Drink up the calcium fortified o.j. – it’s vegan!

      I eat King Henry’s Bakehouse Rye Bread and it’s definitely vegan. 100% rye, no seeds, produced locally.

      Some reviews for that bread are available on Qld Vegsoc.

    • Ahh thanks for raising that. At the time I wrote this post I wasn’t as clear on the palm oil issue. I am still not as informed as I should be about it. On the plus side, I rarely eat Oreos anymore, but thanks for adding this comment in case someone else comes upon this page.

  2. If you are talking about the Hot Cake House Pancakes in Sunnybank, Brisbane then they are sadly not vegan as they add in milk powder to the pancake mixture 😦

  3. 🙂 This is very helpful, making me feel a bit less cautious of what i am eating. I am that person who will always search if things have gelatine even if it isn’t labelled on the packet… I’m very paranoid.
    I am too paranoid to eat, woolworths homebred, raspberries. They don’t have gelatine on the pack, but I’m still concerned! ( Poor me)
    Just a TIP, be careful of some colourings, Sherbies colour comes from crushed beetles (yuck I know..) also i hope this helped! 🙂

    If you ever need an awesome vegan shop, in Melbourne, go to the Cruelty Free Shop, they also have a website. Enjoy 😀 ( the link to the shop is my link for my account)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s