Friday Feast: Vegan Quiche

I was reading my local Vegsoc forum and came across a thread about vegan chickpea omlettes. The thread included a recipe for a batter based on chickpea flour (rather than eggs), plus a tonne of rave reviews. Apparently, this batter can be used to make lots of things: omlettes, fritters, faux scrambled eggs, pizza bases, frittatas and quiches. Considering I hadn’t had any of this eggy stuff for at least 6 years, I thought I might give it a go. I made a quiche, and it was pretty good! I thought it tasted quite quiche-like. Yankee Elv, who still eats eggs, didn’t think it tasted exactly like quiche, but she liked it a lot anyway.

I made mine in a pie dish, so it was quite shallow. If you wanted a thicker quiche, you could put it in a smaller dish or double the mixture. You might have to increase the cooking time too. I didn’t make mine with pastry, but other people have made it with vegan puff pastry and it worked well. I might try that next time.

Vegan Quiche

vegan quiche

My very first vegan quiche (no longer an oxymoron) - made primarily with chickpea flour and topped with pine nuts.

Ingredients

**batter**

  • 1 cup besan (chickpea) flour
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 2 tabs olive oil
  • salt/pepper to taste (be generous)
  • vegan margarine (to grease the dish)

**my filling** (this is all optional, change as you like – you want to add flavourful stuff though or it will be bland)

  • sun-dried tomatoes, finely diced
  • roasted capsicum, finely diced
  • black olives, finely diced (consider the strong flavour of these when deciding how many to add)
  • shallots (green onions), finely diced
  • nutritional yeast (I used about 1/8 cup)
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • Italian herbs
  • pine nuts (to sprinkle on top)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C (390°F).
  2. Sift besan flour into a bowl. Add other batter ingredients (aside from vegan margarine) and combine very well.
  3. Add filling ingredients (except pine nuts) and combine.
  4. Pour mixture into a greased dish. (Use vegan margarine to grease.)
  5. Bake for 25 to 30 mins, then sprinkle pine nuts on top and return to the oven.
  6. Continue to bake for about another 10-15 mins, or until set and golden brown around the edges (and on top, if you want).

Share

4 thoughts on “Friday Feast: Vegan Quiche

    • It was pretty good actually – I was really amazed I could make an egg-free quiche that imitated the traditional kind so well. Nothing bad in it either, and less fat and cholesterol than the egg kind. You should give it a try, it’s really easy!

  1. I said to the wife…”wife, I want a vegan quiche”. And she said, “wife, dream on. No eggs, no quiche”. And I said…”just a moment, I am sure there is someone who can help us.”

    And so I found your blog. I modified the recipe ever so slightly, stealing from another recipe found on “the tiny skillet” blog and yet another from a friend who loves tomato pies and this is what happened…

    My wife has promised to love me forever if I continue to cook for her.

    Here’s my version:

    Cast Iron Skillet

    Same batter (but with a slight bit more water…maybe a fourth cup) which I let sit for about 4 hours while we went for a long long hike in the hills.

    Returned to the little cottage. Put the skillet on the stove while preheating to 400 F. Added 2 T oil to skillet, heated up and added 2 shallots for a couple minutes, stirring so as not to burn. Added about 1 T Fresh Rosemary and 3 cloves of garlic crushed. Stirred for another minute or so. Scooped most of the shallot/garlic/rosemary mix into the batter, added salt and pepper and stirred. Poured 1/2 the mixture into the hot pan (still had plenty of oil in the pan). Added sliced heirloom tomatoes and chopped fresh basil gently to the top of the batter. Poured remaining batter on top of tomatoes and basil. Put the entire mess into the oven and took a shower while it cooked for 35 minutes.

    Added a salad and Cabernet Sauvignon and the family ate happily ever after.

    Thanks for the inspiration and the cute blog to go with it. I’ll have to try more of your recipes.

    also, thanks to my garden for the rosemary and to the San Leandro Farmer’s Market for the heirloom tomatoes, garlic, basil and salad.

    • That sounds like a gorgeous quiche! I will have to give that one a go for sure… just gotta get me a cast iron skillet. They’re not such a big thing in Australia, but my Yankee partner hankers after one.

      I’m glad you like the recipe and the blog and that it was helpful in ensuring your wife will love you forevermore (provided you continue to cook for her lol).

      In turn, thank you for reminding me I need to plant some rosemary at my new house… I left my old rosemary bush behind when we moved…

Leave a Reply

