Friday Feast: Vegan Okonomiyaki

June 17, 2012 at 9:40 pm 2 comments

I tried something new today: vegan okonomiyaki! I’ve never had it before, but let me tell you, it was okonomiyummy! Or maybe I should say okonomnomnom?

Oh come on, I had to go there.

So anyway… now I’m past the bad dad jokes…

Okonomiyaki is a Japanese fritter type of thing (some say pancake, some say pizza, I say big fritter), which is traditionally made with eggs and meat/seafood. However, Sara Lynn Paige shared a vegan recipe that looked so good, I thought I’d try it. Okonomiyaki means ‘as you like it’ in Japanese, so outside the basic recipe, you have a lot of leeway as to what you put in it. You can have it, you know… as you like it. I put in two cups of greens/veges, whereas I think Sara Lynn Paige must have only had about 1 cup of veges, based on her pictures. Mine looked like there was a lot more green. It also took lots longer to cook (maybe I had the heat on too low though). However, the end result was still ultimately yummy, if a little less perfect looking. Here’s what I did:

Vegan Okonomiyaki

okonomiyaki

Ingredients

  • Vegetable oil for frying
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup of non-dairy milk or water (I used a mix of oat milk and water)
  • 1 egg replacer (I used Orgran’s)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 to 2 cups minced greens or other fillings (I used 3/4 cup of raw spinach, 1/2 cup of stir-fried celery leaves, 1/4 cup of raw shallots [scallions], 1/2 cup of diced cooked red onions and celery, and approx 1/4 cup diced honey soy marinated tofu)
  • Toppings – optional (I pressed slices of honey soy tofu skin into the moist surface of the fritter as soon as I put it in the pan and I sprinkled chives on top of the finished product to serve)

Method:

  1. Mix the ingredients (except toppings and oil) in a bowl. Do not overmix.
  2. Heat some vegetable oil in a pan over medium heat.
  3. Put some batter in the pan so it makes a thick pancake (about 1cm thick). This should use approximately half the batter you made.
  4. Let the okonomiyaki cook until you start to get a few little bubbles on the surface, then flip it and cook the other side. You might need to flip back and forth a few times until you get a crisp brownish surface. (The original recipe said 3 to 5 mins. I took more like 10-12 mins.)
  5. Remove from the pan and pat the oil off if you want.
  6. Serve with additional toppings and sauce if you want. (I tried with teriyaki sauce on some bites and sweet chili sauce on others. Good for both, although the teriyaki sauce is quite salty.)
Entry filed under: Friday Feast. Tags: , , , , .

Shit Crunchy Mamas Say Friday Feast: Vegan Barszcz (Borscht)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sybaritica  |  June 19, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    That sounds terrific with the red onions… some pine nuts for just a little crunch would be good too, I bet.

    Reply
    • 2. Aussie Elv  |  August 1, 2012 at 12:10 am

      The onions aren’t noticeable as you eat it, but I think the flavour infuses the fritter and really adds to it. If you try it with pine nuts, let me know how it goes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome


Welcome to Eco Lesbo Vego!

If you want to read about the vagaries of living an eco-friendly life, you're in the right place. Click the About link at the top of the page to learn more about what you'll see here.

Reviews of places to go, things to do and food to eat is included on my Review page - just click on the link at the top of the page.

This blog is written by me, Aussie Elv. I self-identify as a feminist lesbian hippy tree-hugger vegan greenie freak and I put this into practice with my eco-friendly everything. Click the Bio link at the top of the page to learn more about me and my very supportive family.

You can use the categories, calendar, archives or tags in the sidebar (below) to navigate to particular posts, or posts of a certain type. I've also included links to some interesting blogs, sites and communities.

If you want to follow this blog regularly, you can receive updates by clicking one of the RSS buttons under the Subscribe heading. You can also receive updates by following me on any of the listed social media sites. I'm most active on StumbleUpon and Twitter, where you can also be privvy to some of my more random thoughts!

Enjoy your time here at Eco Lesbo Vego. :)

Share

Bookmark and Share

Recent Tweets

Calendar

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge
Break the Bottled Water Habit
The Story of Stuff
The Story of Stuff

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

